A self build house project diary
by Oliver Cannell

A self build house in the making

Follow the process of how we are designing and building a new house ourselves - with help from all the right experts and trades.

Update April 2018 - We're still working on it!
Although the house is nearing completion (if that's ever possible!) and we're living in it, the blog is playing catch-up. More blog entries are being added all the time.



Thursday 22nd January 2015
(published/edited Sunday 22nd April 2018)

Storing information and goodies for the future in a hidden time capsule Storing information and goodies for the future in a hidden time capsule

Before all the internal walls have been built, we thought it would be good to hide a time capsule.

Read more...    

Wednesday 21st January 2015
(published/edited Monday 19th February 2018)

Bathroom and en-suite sanitary items ordered Bathroom and en-suite sanitary items ordered

We've finally made the plunge and ordered bathroom sanitary items.

Read more...    

Tuesday 20th January 2015
(published/edited Wednesday 8th February 2017)

Frosty roof reveals minor heat loss Frosty roof reveals minor heat loss

Results of a little home heat loss and insulation experiment

Read more...    

Monday 19th January 2015
(published/edited Saturday 4th February 2017)

Skimming with wet plaster Skimming with wet plaster

The first day of plastering the walls to give the final finish

Read more...    

Saturday 17th January 2015
(published/edited Tuesday 31st January 2017)

And now for some fun stuff - shopping And now for some fun stuff - shopping

Sourcing the right products and materials at the right price takes a lot of time and mileage

Read more...    

Page 1 of 22 pages  1 2 3 >  Last ›

Buy Funny T-Shirts from Bonkers T-Shirts