A self build house project diary
by Oliver Cannell

A self build house in the making

Follow the process of how we are designing and building a new house ourselves - with help from all the right experts and trades.

Update July 2017 - We're still working on it!
Although the house is nearing completion (if that's ever possible!) and we're living in it, the blog is playing catch-up. More blog entries are being added all the time.



Tuesday 29th July 2014
(published/edited Friday 8th August 2014)

First blocks laid for house itself First blocks laid for house itself

Today has been a big day, as the first blocks are laid which will form the house slab.

Read more...    

Thursday 24th July 2014
(published/edited Monday 4th August 2014)

Rear retaining wall is done (virtual tour) and new Santa’s grotto installed Rear retaining wall is done (virtual tour) and new Santa’s grotto installed

All the block work, reinforcing steel and concrete infill is complete along the rear - plus other little stories from around the site.

Read more...    

Monday 14th July 2014
(published/edited Monday 28th July 2014)

Blocks are flying up fast towards completing the retaining wall Blocks are flying up fast towards completing the retaining wall

Now that foundations are in and set, the blockwork for the rest of the retaining walls are going up quickly.

Read more...    

Tuesday 8th July 2014
(published/edited Wednesday 16th July 2014)

Pouring the concrete for the foundations Pouring the concrete for the foundations

Today was a very stressful, busy and loud day on site, as the concrete is pumped into the foundation trenches.

Read more...    

Monday 7th July 2014
(published/edited Thursday 10th July 2014)

Foundation reinforcing steel cage ready for pouring concrete Foundation reinforcing steel cage ready for pouring concrete

Apparently it's strong enough to build a block of flats onto!

Read more...    

Page 1 of 2 pages  1 2 > 

Buy Funny T-Shirts from Bonkers T-Shirts