A self build house project diary
by Oliver Cannell

A self build house in the making

Follow the process of how we are designing and building a new house ourselves - with help from all the right experts and trades.

Update May 2017 - We're still working on it!
Although the house is nearing completion (if that's ever possible!) and we're living in it, the blog is playing catch-up. More blog entries are being added all the time.



Sunday 24th August 2014
(published/edited Sunday 21st September 2014)

The house exterior walls are going up The house exterior walls are going up

Coming back from a week's holiday, we discover some of the rear external wall has been built.

Read more...    

Sunday 17th August 2014
(published/edited Wednesday 17th September 2014)

Preparing the ingredients for the house-building recipe Preparing the ingredients for the house-building recipe

Getting the concrete blocks in place ready to start building some walls

Read more...    

Thursday 14th August 2014
(published/edited Wednesday 29th March 2017)

It’s time to pour some more concrete It’s time to pour some more concrete

Making the oversite slab foundation - another lorry load of concrete is delivered and poured on-site

Read more...    

Wednesday 13th August 2014
(published/edited Tuesday 9th September 2014)

Damp proof membrane phase of the slab construction Damp proof membrane phase of the slab construction

Thin layer of plastic sheeting will prevent damp from rising up into the floor of the house.

Read more...    

Tuesday 12th August 2014
(published/edited Monday 8th September 2014)

Progress with building the house footprint and slab Progress with building the house footprint and slab

More blocks and layers going down for the house foundation

Read more...    

Page 1 of 2 pages  1 2 > 

Buy Funny T-Shirts from Bonkers T-Shirts